Listen

Do you think I’m eavesdropping or
peeping through your window uninvited?

I’m but a shade at this point, still,
can you feel my gaze and imagine
who I might be and why I’m here?
What I am here to tell you?

Look at me now and listen.
I was you once. The intelligence,
the drive, the clever repartee lost
on those too simple to hear.

Nothing ever changes. He sits there
silent, stolid, indifferent,
while you turn away, craving
your own music, a new life rhythm.

Your best dress wasted tonight. No one
notices and the night advances. Listen
to me. Just grab your shoes and leave
this evening, into the welcoming dark.

Escape from the dull pictures and the
ugly overstuffed chair, the self-satisfied
little man who will miss you, bless his
heart, he will miss you, but more

because you’ve upended things than
because you are you. Nothing will
change, not now, not ever. Except
you if you listen to my advice.

 

This is in response to a prompt from Miz Quickly.

Woman on top speaking to woman below.  IMG_6372IMG_6373

 

Leave a comment